Duality

rusty_tlc

Explorer
A couple of total nOOb questions.

I start my tech test prep class next month and I'm trying to sort out what I need to look for in a radio.

2M seems to be a given, but I'm hearing that a dual band radio is desirable.
Question #1- Why is dual Band so desirable.

I see a lot of 2M/440Mhz units but 2M/70cm also seems to be popular.
Question #2- Which type of dual band radio is best for mobile/expedition applications?

mountainpete

Spamicus Eliminatus
rusty_tlc said:
A couple of total nOOb questions.

I start my tech test prep class next month and I'm trying to sort out what I need to look for in a radio.

2M seems to be a given, but I'm hearing that a dual band radio is desirable.
Question #1- Why is dual Band so desirable.

I see a lot of 2M/440Mhz units but 2M/70cm also seems to be popular.
Question #2- Which type of dual band radio is best for mobile/expedition applications?

1 - for me dual recieve is the most desirable. It allows me to listen to two frequencies at the same time - such as a repeater and a commercial logging frequency. Dual band also just gives you more flexibility to access additional repeaters.

2 - 70 cm is 440 Mhz (430 - 450 Mhz). Same thing. :smiley_drive:

I run a Yaesu FT 8800. Dual band, dual recieve and am very happy with it.

Pete

rusty_tlc

Explorer
mountainpete said:
1 - for me dual recieve is the most desirable. It allows me to listen to two frequencies at the same time - such as a repeater and a commercial logging frequency. Dual band also just gives you more flexibility to access additional repeaters.

2 - 70 cm is 440 Mhz (430 - 450 Mhz). Same thing. :smiley_drive:

I run a Yaesu FT 8800. Dual band, dual recieve and am very happy with it.

Pete

How does that work when there is traffic on both bands at the same time?