Equipment Questions

I am currently studying for my Technician License and will be taking the test in the next few weeks . I have had a number of CB radios over the years and I have decided to make the next step and get into Ham. I currently drive a 2007 JKU and was wondering what everyone's recommendation was for antenna mounts and antennas and if you have any pictures of how you have the radio is mounted that would be awesome .Any help and we be greatly appreciated .

jwhutch

Observer
Kind of an old school setup but it’s an old school Jeep. Larsen NMO 2/70 dual band on a mashup fender mount and Kenwood 2 meter radio, (TN241). The antenna mounting location is popular for Jeeps, and this antenna is popular for people mounting in this location due to ground plane considerations. The fender mount is a straight fender mount sandwiched to a Larsen right angle nmo mount screwed into the side of the fender. Very strong off-road. Since my radio is 2 meters only, it does not have a detachable head unit. If you were to go with a dual band radio with detachable face plate, you open up mounting options considerably. Good luck.

Attachments

• 68926153-BB74-4FC2-B717-B1D816D08153.jpeg
    68926153-BB74-4FC2-B717-B1D816D08153.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 21
  • C6114483-3858-4154-A160-52EF489E3E8D.jpeg
    C6114483-3858-4154-A160-52EF489E3E8D.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 22

dreadlocks

TM-281's are fantastic radios, very sensitive and rugged.. like milspec rugged, and cheap.. I got two of em used.. didnt pay much more than like $65 each.. using em for aprs packet radio on my trailer and at home.

In back country 2m is king over 70, dont really need a dual band all that much.. I find I'm working 2m on both radios more than 70cm for HAM stuff here in the mountains.. Density is just not high enough that 2m is saturated, and UHF gets absorbed by vegetation easier.. in metro tho, there's a ton of traffic on 70cm but only due to the high population density.

Last edited:

jwhutch

Observer