Fuso Canter versus Isuzu

Bandicoot

Adventurer
Again, I'm no expert in this area, but this was my take on why I ended up wanting the Canter rather than the Isuzu. However, I realise some of these points may attract debate!

The two main competitors in Australia for this segment of the market are the Fuso Canter and the Isuzu NPS.
In my opinion, the Fuso has significant advantages including:
o Isuzu has electronic transfer activation (Hi/Lo and 4WD) rather than lever/cable operation
o Isuzu requires DP filter on exhaust to meet ADR (Canter has only EGR and Catalytic converter), hence Isuzu:
 Cannot get any water in the exhaust, giving it a very poor wading depth
 More maintenance
 Special engine oil
 Potential fire risk during regeneration while vehicle is stationary
o Isuzu front anti-roll (front sway) bar is low and can be easily damaged. Canter has no anti-roll (front sway) bar which improves off-road wheel articulation
o Canter has best rear limited slip rear diff
o Canter has narrower chassis rails so more flex which means more wheel travel and better traction
o Isuzu has higher chassis so higher centre of gravity (COG)
o Canter is 200 kg lighter so can take more load before reaching GVM (Isuzu and Canter have same GVM)
o Canter has more torque
o Isuzu with the EC body on it would not fit into a standard 20 ft hightop shipping containers
o The Isuzu is not sold overseas in as many countries as the Canter (which is part of the Mercedes Group)
Bandicoot

whatcharterboat

Supporting Sponsor, Overland Certified OC0018
However, I realize some of these points may attract debate!

You bet. I'll edit in some pics when I get the chance later. Going to bed.

The two main competitors in Australia for this segment of the market are the Fuso Canter and the Isuzu NPS.