Fuso Frame drawing on Google Sketchup

dan85

Observer
internet marketing ambiguity?
One page for education
https://www.autodesk.com/products/fusion-360/students-teachers-educators
another for hobbyists
https://www.autodesk.com/campaigns/fusion-360-for-hobbyists

but now I'm researching step 1 "check if you qualify" on a page that doesn't mention hobbyist.
Just suspicious having been caught by conditions that change - the investment of time required to learn and use complex software is sufficient to require some indication that the conditions on which I start will prevail for many years. Always suspicious of "bait and switch".
Ive been using it now for 18+ months and alot of people in the 3d printing world have been using it for years without issue. its a similar type of operating system to acad and bricscad. once you get the method and lingo for one of the more proffesional packages they are all reasonably similiar with slight differences in the UI.

dan85

Observer
fair enough and I share your distrust of the cloud but for most things it probably doesn't matter if they take your designs. it depends what your budget is and what you are trying to achieve. if you dont want to pay for solid works but want alot of the functionality including FEA and simulations then fusion is a great package at the right price. if you just want base drafting then most things work ok. if you want to be fast and have a bunch of features and the like then your going to have to pay or accept terms like fusion offers. sketch up works ok but its feature set is limited and is therefore slow and can mean a more complex workflow. I use a mix of packages depending what Im trying to achieve as nothing is perfect but I also have paid software which forms the bulk of the drafting work i do especially for things I want to be sure wont be shared.

gait

Explorer
just by way of a more complete explanation .....