GM G80 locker axle transplant on Sprinter along with 4x4 conversion

Figured I'd share a work in progress. I am just getting started and value input!

With a few minor differences I am playing along with Luthj converting my van to 4wd. I was salivating over the ARB front locker he installed, but after consideration decided I'd try something different, and it is a unique enough project I reckon it deserves to be it's own topic. The ARB air locker with compressor is just too much $$ on top of the rest of the 4wd conversion, and to me a rear locker is more useful. It turns out I can accomplish this much more cheaply, though it will take significantly more work hours.

Since the 4wd part of the project is based on GMT 800 series front end, and GM 8 bolt wheels, this was my starting point looking for rear axle options.

I went into it somewhat naively not knowing all the permutations of GM 8 bolt rear axles and quickly found a GM 14 bolt 9.5" rear on a 2003 Chevy Silverado in a u pull junk yard with proper 3.73 gear ratio, has a G80 gov lock, and looked in very good shape except for a little too easy preload and a bit too much backlash. I opened the rear cover while still on the vehicle and the ring gear looks very good, so I figure it will probably be fine with pinion preload and backlash reset. I pulled it and brought it home for $138

Note: the gov lock isn't the greatest, but for the price it's something at least to start with, and the GM diffs can all be upgraded with other options. So I'll go with it for now and see how it performs.

So, the naive aspect was I did not know that there are multiple versions of 14 bolt GM rear axles. The biggest differences are: