Help a newbie choose recovery equipment

vanguard

Adventurer
I'm new to wheeling and right now, my recovery equipment is pretty slim. I have a 2" x 30' tow strap and a D ring. I'm putting on a hitch this weekend and that will be my rear recovery point.

In other areas of life, I've noticed that you can save money by buying a kit. However, this wisdom often comes to me after I've gathered half of what comes in the kit so any savings would be lost in duplicate items.

Keep in mind, I live in NC and don't see the same kind of wilderness that you guys might see in Mexico or (insert any cool exotic localtion here). I've never wheeled alone and even if I did the trail (National Park) would be busy with lots of wheelers willing to lend a hand to somebody stranded. What I'm getting at is I don't really need a 5 day supply of water or enough food to stay alive until the rescue helicopter finds me. I probably just need to get unstuck.

So, if you had a more or less clean slate like I do what would you buy? Would you get a kit? Would you piece something together on your own?

Here are a few kits I've found:
http://www.offroadrecovery.com/product/003_203
http://www.recoverygear.com/bags.html

Thanks in advance

erin

Explorer
Do you have a winch of some sort or just a hilift jack? Either way both kits require something to pull you out. Both work well, just that the high lift requires more sweat. I have always found that when I count on other people to be out on a trail, I never see anyone and I get stuck.

But I just have luck like that. Oh well. :arabia:

datrupr

Expedition Leader