Hot Shower Options

jet noise

Observer
Hey folks,

I'm kinda new at this but last time I was out, I needed hot shower capability and didn't have it. So, for now I have the cheap solar shower but I'd like to eventually upgrade to a vehicle mounted heat exchanger setup.
I figure I can mount a water tank between the frame and axle of the trailer, 18 or 20 gallons and use that for my water source in case there are no natural water sources around.

I'm thinking I'll have two options. Option one would be to pump the tank water through a heat exchanger on the Jeep and back into the tank, and just run it until my water temp is 100 degrees or so. I'd have my intake hose and output hose going to the same place. Then I could just pump my hot tank water straight from the tank to the shower, without using the engine any more. That way I can shut off the flow of water and restart it again without scalding the bejeesus out of myself.
Option two would be to pump water from a natural water source through the exchanger and to the shower, which is what I think most people who use this kind of setup do...

Would that work? I'm about to go buy a shurflo pump I found on Craigslist right now. The other obvious piece I need is a heat exchanger. So far all I can find are the Helton and the Twine units made in Australia. I'd have to pay $50 just to get it here. Any other options out there for a US delivery? Thanks in advance!

cruiseroutfit

Supporting Sponsor: Cruiser Outfitters