Is my old Garmin worth using?

BigSwede

The Credible Hulk
I have an old Garmin Etrex Legend from 8 or 9 years ago. It was one of the cheaper ones at the time, and I never really learned how to use it well. I never bought any maps or anything for it either. So basically I am a GPS newb.

Given advances since I bought it, can this thing serve decently as a backcountry/overlanding GPS today? At the very least I would have to get some maps for it... not even sure how to do that, if it is even possible for a unit this "old".

I am not GPS-savvy, so use small words. I have been trying to educate myself but many of the features aren't all that clear to me because I have never used them much if at all.

MidnightRider

MidnightRider
Etrex Legend is still a good gps. I still use one for geocaching. It works fine for saving and finding given coords. Saving campsites, fishing spots, turnoffs off main roads, etc.

It dosn't have much as far as map features, but for navigation with known or given coords, it works great.

When exploring a new area it's simple to bookmark a spot, or set a breadcrumb trail, like the turnoff off main paved rd, so you have an idea of how far youv'e gone, and could retrace your route if need be.

BigSwede

The Credible Hulk
Thanks. Maybe it is worth a try.

What would it take to improve the maps? (Guess I should review the manual :rolleyes:)

JRhetts

Adventurer
Sure it's worth a try. It's a perfectly good GPS, you own it and you can learn on it until you decide you need more capability.

Does it have a microSD slot inside next to the batteries? If so, you can download free maps to experiemtn with from the following site:

http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/

off-roader

Expedition Leader
Sure it's worth a try. It's a perfectly good GPS, you own it and you can learn on it until you decide you need more capability.

Does it have a microSD slot inside next to the batteries? If so, you can download free maps to experiemtn with from the following site: