Layers and shell for the Himalayas in January?

Nomad_K

Adventurer
Hi all,

I have pm'd an outdoor guru here, however, just in case one of the resident experts is busy, I would appreciate some advice on cold weather gear for the Himalayas :victory: in January :Wow1:.

I will be doing some hiking, light manual work etc (infrastructure/ capacity / public health work) ranging from 2500 - 4500 m elevation in temps ranging from hopefully above 0*C to damn cold depending on how high up we go.

I can do layers for a short hike or sliding down a ski slope on my backside, but I am not an expert on working in the above conditions.

Advice on a suitable outer layer (Gortex or no, down or synthetic) and ideal layers underneath would be great. I have some reasonably rugged ski pants, both light insulated (to slide under work gloves) and heavy ski gloves (for hiking around), thermals/long johns for a base layer, and some Gortex boots that I have broken in on previous (warmer) trips.

If I make it back without frostbite, I will show my appreciation with a few pictures of our little expedition and other trucks while we're there if I see anything noteworthy.

Thank you, and a slightly early Happy Thanksgiving to everyone back home in the States!

teotwaki

Excelsior!
Hopefully you can shop extensively for sales. Otherwise you'll pay full price. The best clothing is way cheaper than amputations.

Awesome and well proven brands are Marmot, Mountain Hardware, Outdoor Research and some North Face items, also Patagonia. Weight may not be as much of a concern but packability/compressibility could be.

You may want to consider matching pants pieces that have a zipper that runs from the top of the crotch to the top of the buttocks. Very convenient in cold weather!