Locker with IFS?

michaelgroves

Explorer
I have very little knowledge of IFS vehicles, but wondered if it's a problem to fit a front diff locker to one? Are they generally strong enough to take the increased torque? (Obviously it can vary from vehicle to vehicle, so I suppose what I'm really asking is what IFS models, if any, are suited to full locking diffs up front?)

HongerVenture

Adventurer
Michael,

You can definitely lock IFS. There are several Toyota Tacomas (Scott Brady and BajaTaco to name a few) on this forum with ARB air-lockers in their IFS differential. More than anything it depends on the availability of the part on whether or not you can do it.

The differential itself can handle the stress, it's usually the axle that will suffer from the stress. I'm sure there are some IFS systems that are more prone to this than others. I know that Toyota front IFS axles do break, though usually from wheel spin. I'm not sure if I've heard of one breaking due to a locker.

Joel

michaelgroves

Explorer
Thanks, Joel. Yes, my thought was that the axle-shafts have two sets of UJs, and the outer ones must swivel around two axes, as opposed to a solid axle, which has just a single, one-axis swivel. The open diff guarantees that both shafts share the available torque, whereas when you lock it, you can get all the torque on just one, possibly awkwardly-angled shaft.

It's encouraging that they make lockers for IFS, though - presumably it implies that the manufacturers think the axles are up to the job.

Scott Brady

Founder
Michael,

I am very cautious with locker use on my Tacoma, mostly because the CV can be placed under steering AND extension stress (when the suspension droops).

The main benefit is a much stronger case to help limit deflection in the carrier. Then, it is an insurance policy. I think in total, I have engaged the front locker three times, and once was to make sure everything was working.

So, only in a straight line, and sparingly is my advice.