Michelin LTX MX/2 Off-Road???

CA-RJ

Expo Approved™
^^^^
LTX MS/2

I'm going to need to replace my current tires by the end of the year and for some reason really want to run these.

09576922000.jpg

They would be going on my 1997 4Runner in size 285/75-16. I spend a lot time in the desert. I don't rock crawl or do mud. I drive a lot of highway miles and value a quiet tire.

What do you think? Would these survive in a desert/exploring setting?

Last edited:

Doctor W

Adventurer
Michelin make really good tyres, their tread patterns are surprisingly grippy for how they look........but you really need an LT type tyre and choose a Load Rating like "D" or "E" - 8 or 10 plies respectively to cope with rough ground, sharp rocks and such.

digitaldelay

Explorer
That size is an LT tire (load range "E").

I've been running the original LTX M/S for the past 3 years and I am very impressed. Off road use has been limited to short excursions down little dirt or mud trails for fun, but they haven't let me down yet. Deep snow performance, if that is a factor for you, is outstanding. IMO, these will be the quietest 285's you will find.

I think you have a good idea here: 33" tire that you can live with on the highway, yet you can air it down when you need to and have just about as much traction as most AT's out there.

Good luck with your decision!

Jason

boris

I put these on my girlfriend's Cherokee 22k mikes ago and they've been exceptional on the highway, dirt roads, and snow. Smaller size though.

I picked up a suburban this summer that has the previous version on it in 33x12.5 and they were just fine in the sand.

Have been very happy with these tires

Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk

burn_e

Adventurer
These are one of the first choices over here.

Very comfy on the road very good in all kinds of sand and gravel.

Pskhaat

2005 Expedition Trophy Champion