Mobile Ham Etiquette Questions.

kidphc

Hoping some of the more seasoned hams can answer a couple questions. I am a new Technician, less than 2 weeks and have some questions.
Unfortunately, I can't make the local ham meets or nets due to conflicts with time. My neighbor who was kinda my informal elmer has now moved cross country so contact with him is rough.

For the most part I will have the equipment in the burb. We do on occasion, 1-4x a year head to Toronto to visit wife's mom travelling from D.C. In my area it is mainly DSTAR, on the roads we travel (WVA, Mid Pennsylvania )funny enough it's largely Fusion repeaters/FM or nada. So I was going to go FTM 400 and ID5100a or TH-D74, 2x Pulse Larsen 270b antennas, possibly 280sh for intown, 2x Larsen NMO's and a Surface Pro 2 (for repeaterbook, aprs.fi etc.)

1. Any input on the gear choices?
  2. In Canada would the call sign be like? ie. This VE3/ KC3NSR o KC3NSR /VE3 10 km north of GTA. What the heck do i just say slash VE3 ( in Ontario)?
  3. When is a QSL card a real nice should do when travelling on the road.

Thanks ahead of time for any input.

prerunner1982

Adventurer
Welcome to the hobby.
  1. All looks like good equipment. I don't have experience with any of the radios you propose so I won't comment.
  2. The ARRL says it should be KC3NSR/VE3. You can say slash or stroke,
  3. For VHF/UHF I wouldn't worry about the QSL card. If you wanted to I would make good notes about where you were when the contact is made to put on the card.

kidphc

Welcome to the hobby.
  1. All looks like good equipment. I don't have experience with any of the radios you propose so I won't comment.
  2. The ARRL says it should be KC3NSR/VE3. You can say slash or stroke,
  3. For VHF/UHF I wouldn't worry about the QSL card. If you wanted to I would make good notes about where you were when the contact is made to put on the card.