Need some KLR advice

Clark White

Explorer
So here is where I'm at: I have a tight budget as I'm a student living solely off the GI bill. However, I have saved up enough for a bike which I am now very much in the market for as I am planning an AZ to Yellowknife and back via HW101/1 down the West Coast with some friends of mine. In my search, I have come down to two bikes that are currently available and in my price bracket.
1: http://prescott.craigslist.org/mcy/1651434889.html
2: http://phoenix.craigslist.org/nph/mcy/1652229899.html

Bike 1 obviously has WAY more miles (33400 instead of bike 2 with 2200). However, the dealer did the top end 3000mi ago and it would save me about $500 in farkles that are already installed v. bike 2. How much does a top end job make up for the high miles???

Bike 2 only has 2200mi on it, looks very clean, and has a nicer after-market seat, but otherwise no farkles which I estimate will cost me ~$500 more to get up to speed then bike 1.

Both are ~$2600 asking price, so the deal breaker really comes down to the mileage and whether the dealers rebuilding the top end will make up for that. What do you all say?

Thanks!
Clark White

P.S. Here is a link for my planned trip rout, so you can clearly see why I need this bike to be reliable beyond the normal obvious reasons:
http://tinyurl.com/ya6qd2y

scarysharkface

Explorer
It's possible that the high-miles bike is on the verge of needing new everything (wheel bearings, steering bearings, clutch plates, etcetera) and the new top end implies to me that maybe those have been hard miles.

As for farkles, a couple of dry bags strapped to the back, a tank bag, hand guards and better skidplate and you're golden.

See here:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=511498

Have fun!

John

Clark White

Explorer
Sounds exactly like what I was thinking, just wanted a second opinion since I know relatively little about bikes.