New bike suggestions

shade

I started a thread on the new 2020 KTM 390 Adventure in the main chat section, but thought I'd ask about it here, too.

I'm new to riding, with my only experience on motorized two wheeled transport being a 49cc scooter I broke in for a friend - so, no experience :).
I'm average height & weight, so fitment isn't a major concern. Given the price range I'm shopping, I'd rather buy new.

Here's what I think will matter to me:

Street legal & off-pavement capable - A 50/50 mix in capabilities sounds about right.
Useful for multi-day road trips - I'd like it to be comfortable enough to string together at least three 300-500 mile days on the highway.
Fairly light - I don't want a heavy bike, and I also want to be able to carry it on a hitch hauler, so under 400 lbs.
Quality construction - I want to avoid breakdowns on the trail.
Rider aids to keep me in one piece - Like I said, I'm new. ABS, traction control, Quickshifter, slipper clutch, etc.
Reasonably priced - For perspective, I consider the KTM 390 ADV to be reasonable at $6200.

I'm considering a bike like the KTM because it seems to be a good place to start, but it still offers some features that would work well for me as I take on more demanding rides. I'm open to other suggestions, though. I have a few local bike dealers, and I'd like to stick with one of these makes: KTM, Honda, Kawasaki, or Yamaha. Of the three Japanese makes, what compares favorably to the KTM for my list?

Last edited:

MTVR

I like how you're thinking.

May I ask if you have had any competent professional rider training?

shade

I like how you're thinking.

May I ask if you have had any competent professional rider training?
Thanks.