New Truck camper; how to prep truck

dullers

Hey all! I lurk here a lot and post a little. Could use some advice.

My wife and I have been traveling the US and full timing in our 30' travel trailer (Arctic fox 30u) for 2 years now. It's *our* first rv (our parents both had rvs when we were kids) and we've been bit by the bug.

We're headed home "for good" now and are planning to sell the camper and downsize to a truck camper. I'm definitely looking used. Probably something that needs work and is old; 80s or 90s. I'm a contractor and we're basically rv repair experts at this point. Planning - Solar, batteries, generator, exterior storage for skis/bikes, rear and/or front hitch basket, all the normal fun stuff.
But I'm totally green to the truck camper aspect.

***What do I need to do to/for my truck to get it ready to rock a truck camper? ***

I have a 2016 ram 2500 cummins / Laramie / short box / single rear wheel with tow package. Not looking to argue about specs or getting a different truck and open that can of worms. I've read all those threads lol.

My current plan is some Firestone ride rite airbags (used these before on another truck. Loved them) and that's about all I know.
I see people reference torklift tie downs. I'm assuming some sort of tie down rig will be necessary. I'm not looking to just ratchet strap it to the fenders.

Any advice for an old rv'er but new truck camper?
Thx y'all!

Sorry for the crap formatting. I'm on my phone we're Boondocking right now and my laptop is dead and our batteries are low :p

TLDR; what mods for truck to drop a TC in??

dullers

As info - I'm looking at an old 1992 skamper hard side that needs some love. Prefer no pop ups.
I've also got my eye on a Lance and a Fleetwood angler, both used.
No slides or anything crazy. Trying to keep weight reasonable.

birdiecat

Air bags are good and so is Torklift, you might want to look into a sway bar for the rear. It made all the difference in the world for me.

BritKLR