Planning a truck build, lots of questions.

I'm in the very early planning stages for a truck build. I'd like something which I can live and work (computer job) in for 3/4 years, while travelling through Africa, Asia, Russia and possibly The Americas. Unfortunately I have very little experience with trucks, so hoping for some feedback on my plans.

I'd like something which can get off the beaten path, with good off-road capability, fully self sufficient (just add diesel), and comfortable for long term travel. I realise a truck will always be somewhat limited to where it can go, and am willing to forgo a little go anywhere ability for increased live-ability and self-sustainability.

The truck would need enough space for living, working (large table/desk, plus a safe place to store computers), supplies, motorbike, tools and spares. But also small enough for driving off-road and through small villages and mountain passes.

With all that in mind, I'm currently planning a similar internal layout to the Action Mobil 4500HB (PDF), with a 1m long full height garage area added behind, two spare tyres on the back wall and a compact cab. This would be a little under 8m long. However storage is a little cramped (the motorbike takes up most of the garage) and I'm not sure about the high bed.

The base truck would be a modern, Euro 3 MAN TGM or possibly Iveco, as they're plentiful (at least in Europe), well priced and have decent off-road performance without sacrificing too much on-road. A wheelbase of 4-4.3m and a cutout to maintain a good departure angle.

How does this sound? These are the main things I've been struggling with:

• Maximum practical length? Aiming for under 8m as that's what I've heard is the longest size that's still small enough to not be too limiting, but fitting everything in is proving tricky. Would 8.5 or even 9m be workable, or is 8m the limit?