Power to truck bed - criticize my plan

Alloy

Thank you everyone for your detailed input! I have a couple more 101 type questions.

1. What material would you recommend I mount the engine bay components (relay, circuit breaker) on? I'm a woodworker but don't imagine plywood is a good choice. Metal or anything conductive seems like a bad idea. I could just grab a random piece of stiff household plastic, but I have no idea how melty it might be.
2. Anything to look out for in wire loom selection? I don't think it needs to be weatherproof.
Plywood works doesn't cost much easy to work with can be painted or use clear urethane.
Another option is polyethylene marine board (Starboard or Seaboard) but the thickness should be upgraded 1/8"-1/4 i.e. 1/2" plywood = 3/4" marine board.

I hate loom. Preffer the nylon wire wrap.

1580343014402.png

Sometimes (rarley) I use a short section of loom for chafe protection but most of the time I'll split a pcs of rubber hose.

Amperage of the wire is reduced when bundling wires together.

Last edited:

VanWaLife

I've mounted circuit breakers, etc. directly to dry areas of inner fender / firewall without any trouble. Always a good idea to use terminal covers. One school of thought is that if you have a wire come loose you want it to ground out and blow a fuse or breaker as opposed to having it flop around hot for you to find next time you're fumbling around without enough light. If you do want a piece of plastic I'd just peruse the electrical aisle of Home Depot and look for a pvc box cover or something similar. I think those should withstand ambient engine bay temps if you avoid exhaust and other hotspots. The higher quality split looms (i.e. marine) have better heat / flame resistance than your basic auto parts store stuff, but the auto parts store stuff is way cheaper and has worked just fine for me.