Single-zone vs. Dual-zone

wileybyrd

BLUF: Is the extra cost of a dual-zone fridge worth it?

I'm in the market for a fridge. I've been squirreling away cash for a while now. I'm considering a budget, mid-grade, or premium model as noted below. I have a family of 4 and the fridge will live in the back of a 2007 100 series Land Cruiser. On average, we camp for 3 nights at a time, typically setting up a basecamp with my trailer/RTT and exploring via truck, bike, and hike. I already have 2 ga wire run to a distribution block in the back in anticipation for the fridge addition (and for a previous HAM radio install). I have no experience with 12v fridges.

I am considering purchasing ONE of the following:

Whynter FM-62DZ or Whynter FM-65G
OR
Dometic CFX 65DZ or Dometic CFX 65W
OR
SnoMaster LP61 or SnoMaster LP66

Within each of the manufacturers, would you recommend the single-zone fridge or the dual-zone?

Thanks for your input.
-Will

OmegaMan73

Observer
I think it depends on whether or not you plan to keep items frozen or freeze them. I had an arb fridge but traded it for a snomaster. The arb was a bit easier to pack full of food and drink. But the snomaster allows me to take popsicles for my son and his friends when we take all of them out. I like the flexibility the dual zone offers. You can make one side a freezer and the other side a fridge. That opens up possibilities for lots of things.
Now you can make a single zone work kinda like a dual zone by keeping frozen stuff on the bottom and using a divider like thick foam to separate the 2 "zones". But I never really had any luck with that, admittedly I only tried it a few times. With a dual zone that's taken care of easily. Either way you will learn how to make the best use out of either one and you will be very happy with either. Let us know which you choose!

dreadlocks