Smitten by Land Rover, Heart says yes Brain...ehhhhh

blitz93

Hey guys

So I have been a fan of Land Rovers since I was 12 but always been scared off by their reputation of less then stellar reliability. I am a boat guy and work in yacht yards when not in college so repairs are no biggie for me(if the systems are simple). I like the simplicity of a defender but all the clean ones seem out of my budget and the newer lr3's seem to have way to many points of failure, maybe I am wrong. The 2004 disco II seem to be the best of both worlds but that is why I am here.

I need a car that:
Is comfortable on the highway. I am a commuter student to UMBC and spend a lot of time on the road not to mention road trips.
Reliable enough that it will not leave me stranded in the road, I don't mind repairs just as long as its not super unreasonable.
drivable to Canada and back, family owns land up there and I have to take care of it quarterly.

My budget is 22k, but I want to set aside some of the money for repairs/fixing it up.
I am interested in doing the expedition off roading and camping thing out of a land rover I just have to be able to do these first few things.
So the question is there a land rover that can do all of the above?

I really appreciate it!
Evan

DougC

Observer
For 22k I'll sell you my 2007 Range Rover supercharged with 163k miles. It has been reliable as anything since I bought it at 42k miles...my mechanic and several local club members want it, but I want the 2012 supercharged and need top money! Seriously--this my third rover. If you maintain them, they are reliable. That is very true if you look at the newer land rovers with jag engines. Buying used, make sure you get them checked out first.

psykokid

Explorer