Snapped an old leaf pack in half, bent an old axle...doing some expedition trailer diy/refresh! Need suggestions...

deanorino

Long time no talk, I’ve been using my offroad trailer for about 4 years now, and it finally broke under pressure. I believe part of the issue was incorrect shackle hangar placement and old leaf springs that were not the correct weight for the loads I was placing on the trailer .

Either way, I want to incorporate a new drawer style or other storage solution to store all of my camping/overland equipment in the trailer and make for easy setup and tear down. I’m thinking a huge single slide out drawer to the rear with some support legs that makes it like a giant table, but open to ideas. I’m also open to refabbing existing box shape/adding doors, changing the tailgate etc. I want to make trailer 2.0 better than ever!

For starts I’m upgrading to a 3500 lb dexter axle and electric brakes with new hubs. I also purchased new leaf springs, although I think 2.5k lb springs may be too high (4 pack). I will also be adding shock mounts and shocks, most likely from a small passenger car that allows for cheap and easy replacement.

Here are some photos of what we are dealing with!

Photos of my sad axle, and the trailer in question!

View attachment 20200629_201308-min.jpgView attachment 20200629_201324-min.jpgView attachment 20200629_212124-min.jpgView attachment 20200629_201838-min.jpgView attachment 20200629_201501-min.jpgView attachment 20200629_201533-min.jpgView attachment 20200629_201345-min-min.jpg

Last edited:

old_CWO

You should weigh the trailer "wet," that will help you pick the appropriate spring rate. If possible, switch from standard trailer springs to something longer and stronger. Front springs from an early flat fender Jeep is what's found under old fashioned quarter ton military trailers and those are pretty much the gold standard for off road trailers.