THREE 12v Sources - automatic selection?

woytovich

Observer
Context:
a Land Cruiser Troopy environment (24v stock electrical system)
12v DC loads need power (fed from a 12v fuse box)

Sources:
A. 120v >12v power supply
B. 24v alternator/main battery bank >12v converter
C. 12v "house" battery

I would like to prioritize the source selection for the 12v going into the 12v fuse box.
Ideally this is automatic.

Priority:
In the order above: A, B then C:
Use (A) 120v power supply if it is powered up
else use (B) the alternator supplied power if the vehicle is running
else use (C) the 12v "house" battery

My head is spinning from the research I've been doing. (I'm a relative novice when it comes to DC electrics.)
Diodes, relays, charger controller...?

I'm not looking to cobble together a huge wiring project. If there is a device that'll do this that is not$ I'll be good with that. That said I'm not afraid to wire up some relays or even diodes if that is a "better" solution.

The attached diagram shows the "?????" that I am needing to solve.

NOTE: I WILL be looking to charge the 12v battery when power is coming from either the 24>12v charger or a 120v>12v charger (not shown)

Thanks folks

.Screen Shot 2023-02-05 at 6.39.01 PM.png

DiploStrat

Expedition Leader
You are making this WAY too hard. I have 12v camper/house battery in a 24v truck. (One can debate 12v vs. 24v, but for a small vehicle, like a Trooper, I suspect that a 12v system is best.)

From the 24v, positive terminal of your stater battery(s) - run an appropriately sized, and fused, wire to the 24v to 12v battery to battery charger of your choice. I use REDARC, but Sterling Power will also sell you one. I would go for the largest unit that you can fit. This is where REDARC excels.

Install a 12v lithium iron camper battery, oversized for the worst load you can image. Given the small size and lighter weight of lithium iron (and other reasons as well) this is the best choice for a smaller vehicle.