two tire questions

Jfet

Adventurer
Hi, I am new to these medium trucks and have a question about tires, since I need to replace them on the 2006 Isuzu NRR I just bought.

1) I would like to go with the Toyo M608Z drive tire on all 6. Is this ok or do I have to put steer tires on the front axle?

2) Can I run 245/70R19.5 instead of 225/70R19.5 as recommended from the Isuzu 2006 NRR spec sheet?

Thanks!

SkiFreak

Crazy Person
I would like to go with the Toyo M608Z drive tire on all 6. Is this ok or do I have to put steer tires on the front axle?
I have the M608Z tyres all round as singles, so I see no reason why you would have to use different steer tyres at the front.

blackduck

Explorer
The concept of seperate "steer" and "drive" tyres is more focused on the heavy transport industry where extra traction is required to move a load on sometimes unforgiving surfaces, and not so much on recreational light trucks
your choice of tyres suits your requirement so long as you dont go outside the weight and speed aspects of the tyre
myself Im currently running what could only be described as a steer tyre all round (long continuous grooves), but they came with it new and havent worn out yet
when it comes time to change Ill probably go a little more drive (blocks) all round but ill probably be going for singles aswell
be they boring old steel 19.5's or bright shiny alloy 16's Im not sure yet

Jfet

Adventurer
Thank you both. If I go with the 245 M608Z on all 6 tires it will be a combined load rating of well over 25,000 lbs, and my vehicle is only rated at 19,500...should be good.

My only concern was if using traction mud/snow tires on the front steer would cause a danger. Sounds like all it might cause is wear and rougher ride.

JRhetts

Adventurer
...My only concern was if using traction mud/snow tires on the front steer would cause a danger. Sounds like all it might cause is wear and rougher ride.