Van Advice: Used 4x4 vs. 2WD and conversion

rruff

Explorer
I'll look into the lower gears and locker. I'm still learning what all these components do, so the recommendation is really helpful. Another reassuring comment about 4wd! My house is up about two miles of switchbacks, so it sounds like I couldn't even use 4wd to get home.

If it's slick all the way up, 4WD is fine.

I like to camp in remote places that are technical enough that most people don't bother. If I see one other human in a week, I figure I failed... normally I could return to same spot and not see any humans for months... I lived for 13 years like this in a 2wd Toyota... no locker, not even a lift or decent tires! I beat the crap out of it, but it never broke down, or got stuck to the point where I needed help (air down for sand). I avoided both snow and mud though (easy to do if you migrate in the western US), so your use is a bit different. I'd never pay the premium on a 4WD van though. I only got it on my Tundra because it was cheap.

I don't know your situation precisely, but if you are stuck on a van... I think I'd go with a GM or E series, plus lift, low gears and locker, bigger tires. For snowy winters put on snow tires.

motovan_mn

I'll look into the lower gears and locker. I'm still learning what all these components do, so the recommendation is really helpful. Another reassuring comment about 4wd! My house is up about two miles of switchbacks, so it sounds like I couldn't even use 4wd to get home.

I found this video very informative showing the internal workings of the various popular limited slip and locking diffs.

Bikersmurf

Expedition Leader
I’ve never had a 4wd van. I’ve got an excellent 4x4 that’ll get me much further than a full-size van will ever go. At least in these parts, a full size van might as well be a city bus for wheeling purposes.