1st Gen Endcap Mod

Louisd75

Adventurer
After my last snow run/winch fest I figured I should take a look at the end caps on the frame rails used to hold the front bumper. Lots of this:

resulted in this:

20130701_140222_zps42b1f8dc.jpg

This was the front passenger side. I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure it ain't supposed to look like that. Or this:

20130701_140338_zps2492b6fc.jpg

I remember when I originally installed the bumper way back when, the end cap was perfectly flat on the end. Oh well. Off we go. Not too many pictures of the actual process since I was working alone and trying to work quickly, I'll try to describe what I did as best as possible. I started by cutting off the old end caps flush with the frame and then grinding them out. There was a little bit of weld material from the end cap on the inboard side of the frame rail. I was able to chisel it out. The angle iron is going to be against this part of the frame.

Also, this was all a mistake. What I first should have done was measure the location of the stupid bolt hole before getting all gung ho with the cutoff wheel. I had some scrap angle iron, 3" x 3" and 1/4" thick. Probably a bit overkill, but it was free. I trimmed it so that one side of the angle became the new front part and the other side became a leg that ran down the inboard side of the frame. The dimensions of the front measured out at 2 3/4" tall and 1 3/4" wide. I drilled a hole approx 1/2" centered vertically and 20mm inboard based on my best guestimate of the hole location based on the pieces I'd cut off. I then tack welded a new 10mm fine pitch threaded nut on the backside. Here's an incredibly exciting photo from after the chips got done flying:

20130701_174244_zpsfc65976f.jpg