Florida M101A2

Heat Miser

I picked up an M101A2 in Georgia about three weeks ago. It's clean, straight, and complete (rails, bows, and top). I'll use it to haul my kayak, bikes, and for camping. Right now, I plan on camping in it. The top is in great shape and I'll add mosquito netting and foam rubber floor for added comfort and insulation. At this point, it's more of a refurb than a build as I plan on doing short camping trips and determining what changes I want to make.

Also, because I'm in Florida, I don't plan on putting it on much of a diet up front because Florida is, well, flat (minus the overpasses) and it tows very nicely. If I do mountain trips, then a diet might be in order.

Anyhow, I know some of you have the same trailer and have painted them. Did anyone use a rattle can? I have no experience with an HVLP unit (or the paint to run through it), but is it difficult to learn? What did you use for primer or surface rust treatment? Thanks in advance. Pardon the crappy cell phone pics.

Attachments

• Photo2.jpg
    Photo2.jpg
    376.4 KB · Views: 57
  • Photo1.jpg
    Photo1.jpg
    413.8 KB · Views: 53
  • Photo3.jpg
    Photo3.jpg
    424.4 KB · Views: 61

Mark Harley

Expedition Leader
Nice trailer, I bought a $12.99 Harbor freight HVLP top pot spray gun.
It sprays solvent based paint well, Not so well with thinned latex.

I took the tub off my M101A2 and shot it in the yard on 4 sawhorses.
Fast drying and little over spray, "The grass was not red"
The CARC paint took the paint well, I fixed some dents and cleaned the gunk with lacquer thinner.

"Do not sand the CARC paint it is bad stuff"

I figured for $12.99 I would toss it when I was done,
cleaned it out well and it is ready to paint again.

Keep us posted on the refab.

My build:
http://www.expeditionportal.com/for...d-a-Military-trailer-to-build-a-family-hauler

Mark Harley

Heat Miser